Dabrowski, Indian Wells among early WTA Awards

The WTA Tour’s annual player awards, voted on by the media, will be announced on Wednesday.

But Monday, the tour announced the awards that are voted on by the players themselves.  Click here to see the full roundup on the WTA Tour’s website.


And the players voted for Canada’s Gabriela Dabrowski for the Peachy Kellmeyer Player Service Award.

It recognizes “the work she has done to support her fellow players as well as the wider initiatives on behalf of the WTA.”

Chris Evert, Francesca Schiavone and Venus Williams are among the illustrious roster of previous winners.

Dabrowski, who spent last week at the Necker Island tennis event along with fellow Canadians Vasek Pospisil, Carol Zhao and Daniel Nestor, was elected to the WTA Tour Player Council this year. 

Call it the “Petra Award”


Also in Monday’s announcement was the Karen Krantzcke Sportsmanship Award.

They might as well just start calling it the “Petra Award”.

Petra Kvitova has won it for the seventh straight year – and eighth time overall.

The Czech lefty is in major company. Previous winners are a literal who’s who of good citizens: Kim Clijsters, Elena Dementieva, Ana Ivanovic and Lindsay Davenport among them. 

Coach of the year to Oz’s Tyzzer


Craig Tyzzer, the coach who helped Ashleigh Barty win her first Grand Slam title and reach the No. 1 ranking, received the second annual “Coach of the Year” award.

That award is voted on by members of the WTA Coach Program. Former Naomi Osaka coach Sascha Bajin won the first incarnation of the award in 2018.

Tyzzer has been working with Barty for four years.

The award recognizes Tyzzer “for success on the court, but also for serving as an ambassador of the sport and bringing coaching to the forefront of the game.”

Tournaments of the year

The “Tournament of the Year” awards are broken down by category. And it’s no surprise that the events that provide the sweetest goodies and amenities are usually the winners.

And in the Premier Mandatory category, the winner is the BNP Paribas Open at Indian Wells for the sixth straight year.

The desert event has won the award every year, since the WTA divided up the awards into tournament categories in 2014.  

The Dubai Duty Free championships prevailed in the Premier 5 category.

Stuttgart (for the 10th time) and St. Petersburg were tied at the Premier level.

Finally, there also was a tiei n the International category. Acapulco, and the Auckland tournament that starts the season, both were recognized.

Recommended Stories

Doubles guru Gigi Fernandez shares her passion

Contest winners enjoy the NY experience

Crystal Cruises CEO Rodriguez loves Venus Williams

Kyrgios still on board for a run in mixed (photos)

McCoco just happy to be here

It's SouZA, not SouSA – this matters

Another knee surgery for del Potro

Muster-Thiem association short-lived

Besties Rublev and Zverev hug it out

Court '70 Slam recognized at the AO