Final lineups confirmed for ATP Cup

Wednesday was the second deadline for the group placement and team rosters to be finalized for January’s inaugural ATP Cup.

And while most of the squads have nominated the maximum five players, there are a fair few faces that are missing.


Nine of the top 10 players are on board so far (the notable exception being the late-withdrawing Roger Federer.

And 26 of the top 30 (missing are Federer, Warwinka, Rublev and Tsonga))

Milos Raonic and Brayden Schnur, two of the top four ranked singles players in Canada, will not be on board.

Some Aussie legends were on hand for the finalization of the pool groups for next January’s ATP Cup on Thursday. (Facebook)

Teams, players and rankings

Here’s the lowdown on the various groups, including their current ATP singles and doubles rankings.

The Aussies are notorious manglers of foreign names (sometimes to hilarious effect). So the public-address announcers at the three preliminary venues have a lot of homework to do.

But one thing is clear. A number of teams, if the top player judges themselves not ready to start the season July 3, don’t have the level worthy of the competition.

Two of those pop to mind immediately: Kevin Anderson (who has been out for months) and South Africa and Nikoloz Basilashvili of Georgia (who just had elbow surgery).

Others: Bulgaria, Moldova, Greece, Belgium (which includes the retired Steve Darcis), Uruguay and Norway.


Group A



Novak Djokovic (No. 2) (D No. 142)
Dusan Lajovic (No. 35) (D No. 109)
Viktor Troicki (No. 156)
Nikola Cacic (No. 1328T) (D No. 7)
Nikola Milojevic (No. 160)

Missing: Laslo Djere (No. 38), Filip Krajinovic (No. 40), Miomir Kecmanovic (No. 60)


Gaël Monfils (No. 10)
Lucas Pouille (No. 22)
Benoit Paire (No. 24) (D No. 103)
Nicolas Mahut (D No. 3)
Edouard Roger-Vasselin (D No. 15)

Captain: Gilles Simon

Missing: Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Pierre-Hugues Herbert


Kevin Anderson (No. 92)
Lloyd Harris (No. 101) (D No. 363)
Ruan Roelofse (No. 659) (D No. 236)
Raven Klaasen (D No. 11)
Khololwam Montsi (No. 1605T)  – age 16

Captain: Jeff Coetzee


Cristian Garin (No. 34) (D No. 341)
Nicolas Jarry (No. 77) (D No. 70)
Alejandro Tabilo (No. 206) (D No. 482) (Canadian)
Hans Podlipnik-Castillo (D No. 128)
Marcelo Tomas Barrios Vera (No. 326) (D No. 524)

Captain: Paul Capdeville




Alexander Zverev (No. 7) (D No. 100)
Jan-Lennard Struff (No. 36) (D No. 56)
Mats Moraing (No. 188)
Kevin Krawietz (No. 481) (D No. 7)
Andreas Mies (D No. 8)

Captain: Boris Becker

Missing: Philipp Kohlschreiber (No. 79), Dominik Koepfer (No. 85), Peter Gojowczyk (No. 121), Cedrik-Marcel Stebe (No. 164) and many more.


Stefanos Tsitsipas (No. 6) (D No. 87)
Michail Pervolarakis (No. 441) (D No. 382)
Markos Kalovelonis (No. 753) (D No. 481)
Petros Tsitsipas (No. 1412T) (D No. 1019)
Alexandros Skorilas (No. 1176) (D No. 1424)


Denis Shapovalov (No. 15) (D No. 49)
Félix Auger-Aliassime (No. 21)
Steven Diez (No. 136) (D No. 436)
Adil Shamasdin (D No. 138)
Peter Polansky (No. 181) (D No. 170)

Captain: Adriano Fuorivia

Missing: Milos Raonic, Vasek Pospisil, Brayden Schnur


Alex de Minaur (No. 18) (D No. 144)
Nick Kyrgios (No. 30) (D No. 241)
John Millman (No. 48)
John Peers (D No. 26)
Chris Guccione (NO RANKING)

Missing: Jordan Thompson, Alexei Popyrin, James Duckworth





Rafael Nadal (No. 1)
Roberto Bautista-Agut (No. 9)
Pablo Carreño Busta (No. 27) (D No. 113)
Albert Ramos-Viñolas (No. 41)
Feliciano Lopez (No. 63) (D No. 55)

Captain: Francisco Roig

Missing: Fernando Verdasco, Pablo Andujar, Marcel Granollers


Kei Nishikori (No. 13) (D No. 450T)
Yoshihito Nishioka (No. 69) (D No. 288)
Yasutaka Uchiyama (No. 78)
Ben McLachlan (D No. 55)
Go Soeda (No. 120)

Missing: Taro Daniel


Nikoloz Basilashvili (No. 27) (D No. 192)
Aleksandre Metreveli (No. 676) (D No. 1111)
George Tsivadze (No. 882) (D No. 561)
Zura Tkemaladze (D No. 1165)
Aleksandra Bakshi (No. 1195T)


Pablo Cuevas (No. 45) (D No. 126)
Martin Cuevas (No. 499) (D No. 240)
Franco Roncadelli (No. 1859T) (D No. 2258T)
Ariel Behar (D No. 84)
Juan Martin Fumeaux (D No. 1171T) – age 17




Daniil Medvedev (No. 4) (D No. 190)
Karen Khachanov (No. 17) (D No. 88)
Evgeny Donskoy (No. 114)
Teymuraz Gabashvili (No. 276) (D No. 206)
Ivan Nedelko (No. 323)

Captain: Marat Safin

Missing: Andrey Rublev


Matteo Berrettini (No. 8) (D No. 205)
Fabio Fognini (No. 12) (D No. 150)
Stefano Travaglia (No. 83)
Simone Bolelli (No. 341) (D No. 81)
Paolo Lorenzi (No. 118) (D No. 239)

Missing: Lorenzo Sonego, Marco Cecchinato, Andreas Seppi, Jannik Sinner


John Isner (No. 19) (D No. 180)
Taylor Fritz (No. 32) (D No. 121)
Reilly Opelka (No. 33) (D No. 179)
Rajeev Ram (D No. 24)
Austin Krajicek (D No. 40)

Missing: Bob and Mike Bryan, Jack Sock, Sam Querrey, Frances Tiafoe 


Casper Ruud (No. 55) (D No. 227)
Viktor Durasovic (No. 338) (D No. 861)
Lukas Hellum Lilleengen (No. 1573T) (D No. 1304T)
Leyton Rivera (D No. 1948T) – age 18
Herman Hoeteraal (D No. 2162T) – age 18





David Goffin (No. 11) (D No. 164)
Steve Darcis (No. 155)
Kimmer Coppejans (No. 158) (D No. 273)
Joran Vliegen (D No. 39)
Sander Gille (D No. 47)

Great Britain

Andy Murray (No. 125,PR No. 2) (D No. 91)
Dan Evans (No. 42) (D No. 151)
Cameron Norrie (No. 53) (D No. 15 9)
Jamie Murray (D No. 20)
Joe Salisbury (D No. 23)

Captain: Tim Henman

Missing: Kyle Edmund


Grigor Dimitrov (No. 20)
Dimitar Kuzmanov (No. 417)
Alexandar Lazarov (No. 509) (D No. 469)
Alexander Donski (No. 592) (D No. 438) (Canadian)
Adrian Andreev (No. 677) (D No. 1621T)

Captain: Grigor Dimitrov


Radu Albot (No. 46) (D No. 102)
Alexander Cozbinov (No. 828) (D No. 399)
Edot Matvievici (D No. 1511T)
Dmitrii Baskov (D No. 1770T)




Dominic Thiem (No. 5) (D No. 79)
Dennis Novak (No. 108)
Sebastian Ofner (No. 173)
Oliver Marach (D No. 32)
Jürgen Melzer (D No. 36)

Captain: Thomas Muster (who lives much of the year in Australia)


Borna Coric (No. 28)
Marin Cilic (No. 39) (D No. 442T)
Viktor Galovic (No. 254)
Ivan Dodig (D No. 9)
Nikola Mektic (D No. 13)

Missing: Ivo Karlovic, Mate Pavic


Diego Schwartzman (No. 14) (D No. 41)
Guido Pella (No. 25) (D No. 58)
Juan Ignacio Londero (No. 50)
Maximo Gonzalez (D No. 34)
Andres Molteni (D No. 59)

Captain: Gaston Gaudio

Missing: Juan Martin del Potro, Federico Delbonis, Leonardo Mayer, Horacio Zeballos


Hubert Hurkacz (No. 37) (D No. 253)
Kamil Majchrzak (No. 91) (D No. 562)
Kacper Zuk (No. 452) (D No. 371)
Lukasz Kubot (D No. 5)
Wojciech Marek (No. 914)

Recommended Stories

Unleash the power of the all-new Wilson Ultra Tennis racket

IMG Academy: Still groundbreaking after all these years

Doubles guru Gigi Fernandez shares her passion

The wounded warriors return in Oz

Protected rankings rule on first Oz entry lists

Dabrowski, Indian Wells among early WTA Awards

Bouchard "fake bro" due in court Monday

Auger-Aliassime talks about the journey

Serena's US Open racket art fetches $$$

Jack Sock pops the question

Steven Diez ties the knot

Clavet takes title in USTA 40s