“Simone” or “Simonne”? That is the question

When the trophy was awarded to women’s doubles champions Timea Babos and Kristina Mladenovic, it was obvious the spelling of “Simone Mathieu” was different than the spelling on the new Roland Garros court, “Simonne-Mathieu.”

Most assumed the error is on the engraved trophy, and not on the court. 

Sponsored

A tournament official told Reuters the “errors would be fixed”.

Neither may be “wrong”. Dozens of historical references to the former player and war hero spell her first name with one “n”.

Like here. And here. And here. And here.

But the scrutiny revealed other issues as well.

Recommended Stories

Crystal Cruises CEO Rodriguez loves Venus Williams

Doubles guru Gigi Fernandez shares her passion

Contest winners enjoy the NY experience

The wounded warriors return in Oz

Protected rankings rule on first Oz entry lists

Dabrowski, Indian Wells among early WTA Awards

Bouchard "fake bro" due in court Monday

Auger-Aliassime talks about the journey

Serena's US Open racket art fetches $$$

Jack Sock pops the question

Steven Diez ties the knot

Clavet takes title in USTA 40s

Comments